Showing Collections: 151 - 175 of 356
Zelda Haus Papers
John Turner Henley Papers
Samuel Henley Papers
Henry Augustine Washington to Lawrence Washington Letter
Frederick Herman Collection
Hodgson-Estes Family Papers
Holladay-Poindexter Papers
Papers, 1835-1874, of Alexander R. Holladay and Henry P. Poindexter of Henrico County, Va. Includes letter, 2 September 1853, received by Poindexter discussing real estate in St. Louis; a letter in Arabic addressed to Rev. A. L. Holladay; and a fire insurance policy issued to Holladay and Poindexter for a dwelling in Henrico County.
George Frederick Holmes Papers
Frances G. Hoppin Papers
Helen M. Hoskins Papers
Hourly and Classified Employees Association (HACE) Records
Collection includes annual reports, bylaws, correspondence, employee of the month nomination letters, guidelines for archives and scrapbook materials, minutes of meetings, publications, and other miscellaneous materials.
Charles Howard Papers
Papers, 1865-1879, of Charles Howard, sheriff of Hanover County, Va. concerning estates for which he was administrator. Includes a memorandum book of accounts, loose accounts and legal documents concerning two lawsuits.
Philip Howerton Papers
Lawrence I'Anson Papers
Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.
Office of Institutional Research Records
Ivy House Restaurant Records
The records of the Ivy House Restaurant in Williamsburg, Virginia include business records, guest registers, customer and business correspondence, legal documents, and a variety of ephemera from the local business including menus. This mid-20th century collection documents the history of this restaurant during a time when Williamsburg was going through changes and growth in the tourism industry.
J. W. Crist & Company Records
Records (mostly accounts with Baltimore wholesale merchants) of J.W. Crist & Company, merchants of Sangersville, Augusta County, Va. Includes letters written to John W. Crist.
Jabez and Joseph M. Gravely Papers
Papers, 1797-1861, of Jabez Gravely and his son Joseph M. Gravely at Leatherwood, Henry County, Va. Includes accounts, promissory notes, bonds and some correspondence. Letter, 19 March 1855, lists Know-Nothing Party (American Party) candidates for Virginia governor, lieutenant-governor and attorney-general.
Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten Records
Administrative records, programs and working materials for plays, attendance records and financial records of the Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten, operated by Cary Wynne Boelt in Williamsburg, Virginia.
A rough draft inventory and a history of the Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten Records by Frederick W. Boelt are filed at the beginning of the collection.
Mildred Jackson Papers
Papers of Mildred Jackson of Williamsburg, Virginia. She was a private piano instructor in Williamsburg, a performer with the William and Mary Music Department, and the wife of Dr. Jess Jackson, a professor of English at William and Mary. Includes lesson plans, music books, financial records, correspondence, newspaper articles, photographs, programs, and address books.
James Campbell Account Books
Ledgers, 1793-1799, of James Campbell, merchant, of Lexington, Va. One volume (MsV Ame12) includes accounts with members of the Watt family which were paid for by weaving. There are also loose receipts and legal documents in the third volume (MsV Ame13).
James Family Papers
Correspondence of Cyrus Rosser James (1855-1937), Methodist minister in Virginia (on the Buckingham, Heathsville, North Mecklenburg and Whitestone Charges), with his family including his wife, Annie (Shields) James and his children. Also includes account books, accounts, photographs, scrapbooks, printed books and postcards.
James Lewis Anderson Papers
Legal and business papers of James Lewis Anderson, lawyer of Richmond, Va. Includes certificate, 1919, signed by Westmoreland Davis relieving him of his duties on the Legal Advisory Board because of the end of World War I; his appointment, 1908, signed by Claude A. Swanson appointing him as a delegate to the American Prison Association; and accounts, 9 September 1916-22 January 1917, of the Hermitage Country Club.
James River and Kanawha Company Records
The collection relates to the James River Canal and Kanawha Company, which officially gained a charter in 1835. Included are a list of subscriptions sold to private individuals, a letter to the auditors office discussing current and previous subscriptions, a letter from a prospective surveyor and a list of tollage rates along the canal. Individuals mentioned are John Hartwell Cocke, and his son John Hartwell Cocke Jr.
Jamestown Corporation Records
Records, 1946-1979, of the Jamestown Corporation which was responsible for two of Paul Green's outdoor dramas, "The Common Glory," and "The Founders." Includes certificate of incorporation, by-laws, minutes, yearbooks, scripts, programs, ground plans, costume designs audio-visual materials, photographs, music and loose papers (correspondence and budgets).